top of page
Recent Posts

A 'Restless Sea'




“The heavens are my throne,


and the earth is my footstool.



Where, then, is the house that you could build for me,


And where is my resting-place?”



“My own hand has made all these things,


And this is how they all came to be,” declares Jehovah.



“To this one, then,


I will look,



To the one humble and broken in spirit


who trembles at* (Or “is anxious about.”) my word." Isa. 66:1, 2.



***



"When you cry for help,


Your collection of idols will not rescue you.



A wind will carry all of them away,


A mere breath will blow them away,



But the one who takes refuge in me will inherit the land


And will take possession of my holy mountain.



It will be said, ‘Build up, build up a road! Prepare the way!


Remove any obstacle from the way of my people.’”



For this is what the High and Lofty One says,


Who lives* forever and whose name is holy:



“I reside in the high and holy place,


But also with those crushed and lowly in spirit,



To revive the spirit of the lowly


And to revive the heart of those being crushed.



For I will not oppose them forever


Or always remain indignant;



For a man’s spirit would grow feeble because of me,


Even the breathing creatures that I have made.



I was indignant at his sinful pursuit of dishonest gain,


So I struck him, I hid my face, and I was indignant.


But he kept walking as a renegade, following the way of his heart.



I have seen his ways,



But I will heal him and lead him


And restore comfort to him and to his mourning ones.”



“I am creating the fruit of the lips.



Continuous peace will be given to the one


who is far away and the one who is near,” says Jehovah,



“And I will heal him.”



“But the wicked are like the restless sea that cannot calm down,


And its waters keep tossing up seaweed and mire.



There is no peace,” says my God, “for the wicked.”" Isa. 57:13-21.



***



"To the king of Judah (Josiah) who sent you to inquire of Jehovah, this is what you should say to him,



“This is what Jehovah the God of Israel says:



‘Regarding the words that you have heard,



because your heart was responsive


and you humbled yourself before Jehovah


on hearing what I have spoken against this place and its inhabitants—



that they would become an object of horror and a curse—



and you ripped your garments apart and wept before me,



I also have heard you,


declares Jehovah." 2 Kings 22:18, 19.



***



"Hear the word of Jehovah,


you who tremble at his word:



“Your brothers who hate you and exclude you


because of my name said,



‘May Jehovah be glorified!’



But He will appear and bring you joy,


And they are the ones who will be put to shame.”



There is a sound of uproar from the city,


a sound from the temple!



It is the sound of Jehovah repaying his enemies


what they deserve.



Before she went into labor, she gave birth.


Before birth pangs came to her, she delivered a male child.



Who has ever heard of such a thing?


Who has seen such things?


Will a land be brought to birth in one day?


Or will a nation be born all at once?



Yet, as soon as Zion went into labor,


she gave birth to her sons.



“Will I bring it to the point of birth


and then not bring it forth?” says Jehovah.



“Or would I cause the birth and then shut the womb?” says your God.



Rejoice with Jerusalem and be joyful with her,


all you who love her.



Exult greatly with her,


all you who are in mourning over her,



For you will nurse and be fully satisfied from her breast of consolation,



And you will drink deeply and find delight


in the abundance of her glory.



For this is what Jehovah says:



“Here I am extending to her peace just like a rivers


And the glory of nations like a flooding torrent.



You will nurse and be carried on the hip,


And you will be bounced on the knees.



As a mother comforts her son,


So I will keep comforting you;


And over Jerusalem you will be comforted.



You will see this, and your heart will rejoice,


Your bones will flourish just like new grass.


And the hand* (Or “power.”) of Jehovah



will become known to his servants,



But he will denounce his enemies.”



“For Jehovah will come as a fire,


And his chariots are like a storm wind,


To repay in furious anger,


To rebuke with flames of fire.



For with fire Jehovah will execute judgment,


Yes, with his sword, against all flesh;*


(Or “all humans.”)



And the slain of Jehovah will be many." Isa. 66:5-16.



***



So, "you who suffer tribulation


will be given relief along with us



at the revelation of the Lord Jesus


from heaven with his powerful angels



in a flaming fire,



as he brings vengeance on those who do not know God


and those who do not obey the good news



about our Lord Jesus." 2 Thess. 1:7, 8.



***



"The one who exercises faith in the Son


has everlasting life;



the one who disobeys the Son will not see life,



but the wrath of God remains upon him." John 3:36.



***



"And I saw a new heaven and a new earth;


for the former heaven and the former earth had passed away,



and the sea is no more." Rev. 21:1.



Because, "the wicked are like the restless sea


that cannot calm down,



And its waters keep tossing up seaweed and mire." Isa. 57:20.



Yes: "As for the wicked,


they will be cut off from the earth,



And the treacherous will be torn away from it." Prov. 2:22.



"For only the upright will reside in the earth,


And the blameless* (Or “the one who keeps integrity.”)



will remain in it." Prov. 2:21.



"The righteous will possess the earth,


And they will live forever on it." Ps. 37:29.



Yes: "The memory of the righteous one is due for a blessing,


But the name of the wicked will rot." Prov. 10:7.



For: "The sinners will vanish from the earth,


And the wicked will no longer exist.



Let me praise Jehovah. Praise Jah!" Ps. 104:35.



KEEP ON THE WATCH!


Political Violence—⁠What Does the Bible Say?


A wave of political violence is sweeping the world.





© 30 mins ago, Lucretia McCloud    society sad teen spiritual hope love


Комментарии


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page